I am ‘that’ girl

IMG_8803

IMG_8836

IMG_8851

IMG_8870

IMG_8872

IMG_8896

IMG_8904

IMG_8928

IMG_8934

IMG_8966

IMG_8997

IMG_8999

IMG_9010

IMG_9038

IMG_9048

Right now I am that girl with my backpack strapped to the roof of a minivan.  I am the girl who carries around toilet paper next to books and post cards in my bag. I am the girl who is learning to shower with a bucket, not set an alarm and be content with long bus rides and pushy locals. Right now I am a girl attempting to learn and utilize new languages, eat and interact with the locals and overall becoming comfortable on the move.

I am now at two weeks of moving. I’m still in country number one, navigating my way through lush, plentiful, working terraces and breathing in the beauty that surrounds me. It feels good, whole, natural. While my skin becomes more tan (relatively speaking of course), my backpacking packing skills improve, and my bartering skills increase, I am finding that this is just plain fun.

 There are so many ways to live in the world. We are perceivers by nature, seeking understanding, growth and adjustment. Millions of moments, interactions and words make up our mindset, views and have formed whom we are. To step back and merely just observe is a hard thing to do. For as long as I remember I’ve practiced being a doer, seeing change, seeing opportunities and seizing them. That is not my role here. My role here is to see, embrace and love the reality that is life here. Not focus on minute differences that initially one might deem as wrong or questionable based on previous experiences alone. I am merely an observer and am finding a lover of all the similarities and differences. Sure with changing landscape, cuisine and even color of skin initially everything might appear polar opposite, but take a deep breath, settle in for a second and you’ll be surprised how little is difference there is after all.

About the post

Uncategorized

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Thanks for sharing a bit of the world with us. Amazing to see life going on while we are on the other side! Love and miss you!!

  2. Ahh travel. I love that settling in period where the excitement of the first week turns into something different. Good luck!

  3. Oh my goodness! I am IN LOVE with this blog and these photographs! I feel like you could sell these works of art, and I would be your first customer in line. Truly amazing, Steph. This is so fun to read and I love seeing what you’ve been up to. These are moments you’ll never forget and I love that you are living your dream. Carpe diem!

    Can’t wait to read more. Love always.

    Brook

Leave a Reply

